Author Topic: concerning the law in regards to first cousins marriage in OKla.  (Read 598 times)

Offline Donney

• Freshman
My cousin and I are wanting to get married, but live in the state of Oklahoma.  We are planning on getting married in Colorado in Nov.   I have read the law which states that cousins who are married in a state that recognizes first cousin marriages will be recognized in the state of Oklahoma as legal, although it is against the law in Oklahoma.    My son who is a police officer told me that even though the marriage will be recognized as legal, the law still stands as an offence and is a felony, and that my cousin and I could be arrested for incest which is considered a sexual offense and we will be registered in the state of Ok as sexual offenders.   Of course this is a huge concern for both of us. I am an elementary teacher and if arrested on these types of charges will certainly lose my job.   If anyone could help me on this matter it would greatly be appreciated.  Thank you.

Offline KC

• "The Boss" * Cousin Czar * Illuminati member * Varment
  • Administrator
  • Don't follow your dreams... Chase them.
Welcome to cousincouples.com! I have met many school teachers over the years on this website. What is it with school teachers and cousin relationships?  :biggrin: The first one I met was dating her cousin, a cop.

As I'm sure you are aware, there is a difference in civil and criminal laws. It is my understanding that OK has no criminal laws against cousins. In other words, their law doesn't define cousins as illegal notwithstanding their prohibition against cousin marriage. The criminal portion would be spelled out under an incest law.