• Announcements

• KC

Get Smart on the Web   09/16/2016

Be informed on better ways to stay safe on the web -- Source: Mozilla
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
KC

w3 validation error

This topic has had no activity within the past six months. It is recommended that you start a new topic instead of replying to old topics.

12 posts in this topic

http://validator.w3.org/check?uri=http%3a%2f%2fwww.cousincouples.com%2f

Anyone know how to fix this? I have a link on the main page to W3 and now I look like a darn fool with a validation error. I think it is a validation bug on their part.

I literally do this stuff for a living but I don't have time to maintain my own website at the moment. Any help would be appreciated. I used really fussy xhtml trans. I think html 5 has the same error though.

Why is the first " shown in red on the error msg?  Does it mean that's what is missing?

My skills in this area are far inferior to yours, it just looks like it may need to be defined somewhere else ... just guessing here.

Also on the faq link it mentions that some software can strip out the required data on referer links

http://davidwalsh.name/facebook-meta-tags

These are new tags that you need for google and FB. They will add an image and description to the search results or FB link.

There should be a way around the validation error. I will research it when I get some time unless someone beats me to it.

You're missing a space at the end of the line before the closing thingy  ....  between the closing " & />

It's on the line quoted in the error msg, line 8 re: title, also line 9 re: img, line 13 re: site_name, line 14 re: description.

I've never used meta tags but I have had this omission of a space make my code go wonky so worth a try mebbe?

Made more sense once I found the 'show source' option lol.

Else I can look at it some more on Monday when mini me is back at school, something useful to do would be good.