• Announcements

• KC

Get Smart on the Web   09/16/2016

Be informed on better ways to stay safe on the web -- Source: Mozilla
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Guest neon

parents are cousins need help to understand why

This topic has had no activity within the past six months. It is recommended that you start a new topic instead of replying to old topics.

10 posts in this topic

I'm not here to bash anyone's life style choice but to ask some real questions and get some real answers.

My parents are 2nd cousins. My great grandmother on my mother's side gave birth to my great grandmother on my birth father's side. I was humiliated when I was in school and had to show a whole class of peers my family tree. They thought I didn't understand the assignment but I did better that they realized. I wasn't told they were cousins until I was a freshman in high school and it was only because they thought they were "caught" and told my brother and I. My parents divorced when I was 12 and after some very frightening and still disturbing things that happened. My birth father was convicted of statutory rape and burglary before my parent married. The rape resulted in a birth and adoption of that child. My brother and I have never met this older sibling. My mother to this day defends him even though he did time for his crimes she does not believe he did anything wrong. My mother when I questioned why she married him said that she did it because she pitied him. She was an 18 year old virgin when they married. He was cruel, sadistic, and self involved person. He was mean to my mom from the 1st day of their marriage and to this day when she sees him. I stopped talking to him when I was 17, I am now 50. Neither of them think that I should tell anyone that they are cousins. My mother is embarrassed if I tell others but defends her decision to marry him. She has never told any of her friends. Nor will she talk about it rationally with me, I am just wrong for having any view point th