• Announcements

• KC

Get Smart on the Web   09/16/2016

Be informed on better ways to stay safe on the web -- Source: Mozilla
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
jguilt

Any other cooks out there?

This topic has had no activity within the past six months. It is recommended that you start a new topic instead of replying to old topics.

13 posts in this topic

Subject says it all. Anyone out there a cook?

I've been cooking for close to ten years now.

So far:

Culinary school (a mistake)

Restaurants:

A high end American cuisine restaurant and hotel.

A high end Fusion cuisine restaurant at a golf course.

A brewery/pub with standard but high quality American cuisine.

A tex/mex restaurant.

Award winning ribs and BBQ joint.

Small American cuisine restaurant which will be featured on dinners, dives, and drive-ins .

Locally famous German and English cuisine restaurant.

Another locally famous American cuisine restaurant.

Right now I've moved back to working at both the tex/mex and BBQ places. It's nice to know I can be hired back but that also means I'm not learning anything new.

I've got my eye on another high end place I'd like to work at. I'm making friends with the chef.

jguilt,

I do a little cooking. DW is a decent cook, but she'll tell you I'm better.

Other than DQ when I was in high school, I've never done it for money. Two years ago I won a chili cook-off, and last year I got third. In the last several years, I've started doing some Cajun food. I've got the gumbo down, and the etouffee is real close. It's always good, but a couple times it has been excellent. I have to get consistent with it. I suspect it is subtle differences in the roux. Roux is an art, and I'm just now getting a little past the "paint by numbers" stage with it. I ALWAYS panic and stress when I'm doing the roux.