• Announcements

• KC

Get Smart on the Web   09/16/2016

Be informed on better ways to stay safe on the web -- Source: Mozilla
ley_b

What will my kids have to deal with because of my relationship

This topic has had no activity within the past six months. It is recommended that you start a new topic instead of replying to old topics.

19 posts in this topic

Hello everyone,

I'm new to CC.com and I'm seeking advise about being in a cousin relationship involving  children.

My second cousin and I hung out over the summer and sparks flew, we fell in love, and have been together for over a year now. We started dating in Aug. 2013 and while I was living in Las Vegas, NV he lived in Elko, NV. After a year of dating long distance and living apart we finally moved in together in Aug 2014. I left Vegas and moved in with him. Since I we've been living together things have been wonderful! But, Elko, NV is a small northern Nevada town.

His family does not think what we're doing is right, but they say we're adults and they would never shut us out. His parents on the other hand, they told us it's not right and we need to end it, now! His dad told me if I loved him and cared about him, I would go home to Vegas for Christmas and leave it at that. (In so many words, he was basically telling me to get the hell out.) They said I'm not welcome at their house as his girlfriend/fianc? but I am welcome there as a cousin. His dad is fighting with the rest of his family because they won't shun me out. His uncle told me they were having Christmas at his house because I'm not welcome at his parents. I've talked to all his family members and so has he. The one thing they all say that is my cousins biggest concern is the consequences our children will face living in a small town, and us too.

We don't have any children together. I have sole custody of my 5 year old daughter and my 3 year old son. He has joint physical and legal custody of his 8 year old son.